grains and seeds

What is glutenous and what is not

      At Prairie Creek Edibles, we mix all of our gluten free baking and bread mixes from scratch.  This way we can produce baking that is healthy and nutritious. We have been asked what is in our mixes. Many people are unsure what grains have gluten and which do not.  Here is a list of what does and does not have gluten that we use.

Grains with Gluten:       
​ Gluten is the protein in many grains. It makes the flour stretchy and airy when you work and bake with it.  Here are some of the main grains with gluten:  
   Wheat, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat starch, barley (flakes, flour, pearl) , malt, brewer's yeast, rye, spelt (dinkel, farro, faro), kamut, triticale (trit-uh-CAY-lee), atta, couscous, durham, einkorn, emmer, farina, fu, graham flour, hydrolized wheat protein, hydrolized vegetable protein, matzoh, matzoh meal, seitan, semolina, and bulgar all have the same type of gluten as they are all from the same plant family.  This is the gluten that causes Celiacs and gluten allergy sufferers so much trouble.  We do not use any of these items in our baking.

Oats - Oats have gluten that is all their own as they are not part of the wheat family. The biggest problem Celiacs have with oats is cross-contamination with other grains, usually in the harvesting stage. While many can eats oats, there are some Celiacs who cannot. We recommend Only Oats, a Canadian company that specializes in uncontaminated oats. They have many products that are guaranteed wheat free. Now the legislation has changed, we will be able to bake with these uncontaminated oats. However, they are tasty and should not stop you from using them.

 Grains Without Gluten:      
There are many fabulous grains that have no gluten or a different type of gluten that Celiacs and gluten allergy sufferers can eat.
Here are a few that we use:   

Millet - One of the most ancient grains in the world. It can be used whole, crushed, or milled into flour. It is fairly bland in flavour but takes to a wide variety of seasonings.  It is a great addition to white long grain rice as it adds nutrition and fiber without the extra starch that brown rice has. We use millet both whole and as flour.  

Brown & White Rice - White rice is brown rice that has been polished to remove the entire hull and bran layer. Brown rice has the hull removed but the germ and most of the bran layer is intact. We use both white and brown rice flours, as well as rice bran on request.   

 Glutinous Rice Flour -  Also known as sticky rice or sushi rice flour. It is made from short-grain rice that is high in starch, however, there is no gluten in it.   

Sweet White Sorghum -  Also refered to as Milo, this grain grows around the world. The white variety is free of any bitter flavours or dark colours. This makes it ideal for puffed cereals, flour, granola bars, and even beer. It is a staple in our kitchen.   

Chickpea/Fava Bean Flour - This is a great blend of two fabulous beans that are not really legumes. They are high in fiber, protein, calcium, iron, and B vitamins. We use this mainly in our breads and ginger snaps.    

Quinoa  -  Is a seed that is grown primarially in South America and Canada. It is high in protien, iron, and fiber. It has a distinct nutty flavour and comes in many colours. It can be eaten like long grain rice or ground into a flour.  We no longer use quinoa as flour but do use the quinoa flakes as an oatmeal substitute. 

Arrowroot Starch - Is ground from the root of a tropical plant and has a neutral flavour. It is high in carbohydrates and provides many empty calories unless balanced with a nutritious flour.  

  Tapioca Starch - Made from the root of the cassava plant, it is very low in nutrients. It is a pure white powder with no real flavour of it's own. It is high in carbohydrates and provides many empty calories unless balanced with another flour. It is also very sticky and we use it in our baking and bread mixes to lighten them up.